National Nordic

SCCL collaborates with national and Nordic research centres in law and economics, such as the Department of Economics, The Centre for Private Governance (CEPRI) and the Forum for Company Law and Financial Market Law (FOCOFIMA) at the University of Copenhagen, the Faculty of Law at the University of Southern Denmark, the Oslo Centre for Commercial Law (OSKR), the Centre for Business Law at Lund University (ACLU) and the Swedish Institute for Financial Research (SIFR) at the Stockholm School of Economics.

In 2010, SCCL initiated a collaboration with the Ministry of Finance, Sveriges Riksbank, the Swedish National Debt Office and the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority, through the Research Panel for Financial Market Law. The purpose of the cooperation agreement is to hold joint seminars, allow representatives of government agencies to be included in reference groups for doctoral projects and enable researchers at SCCL to participate in or lead public investigations. The ambition is to keep the agreement alive, for example by having representatives from the four agencies on the Research Panel’s board.

European Law Institute

SCCL has also, on initiative of its former Chairman, Johan Gernandt, been instrumental in helping to set up, in 2011, a European law forum for co-operation between leading European institutions of jurisprudential research. The purpose of such a forum, the European Law Institute, is to promote transboundary contacts between academics and practitioners, above all in the field of property law.


During the years a main concern for SCCL has been to expand its international co-operation. For example, SCCL inaugurated in 2011 a co-operation with the University of Oxford and Christ Church College, which among other things has made it possible for Swedish researchers to join the Faculty of Law at Oxford University through the Stockholm Centre Oxford Fellowship and spend a whole academic year there doing research. The Scholarship is part of the ongoing co-operation between SCCL and The Institute of European and Comparative Law at the University of Oxford.

It has also been agreed that SCCL and the University of Oxford are to arrange a biannual international conference on commercial law. The co-operation with University of Oxford is managed by The Oxford Committee, which is composed of representatives of the co-operating parties. Chairman of the Committee is Professor Laura Carlson.

Visiting Fellows at SCCL

Senior Visiting Fellows can be associated with the SCCL in order to establish a lasting collaboration to promote research of common interest. A Senior Visiting Fellow may be appointed to a legal scholar who is or has been active at a university or college outside or within Sweden, and a person active outside a university or college who possesses the capacity for scientific activity.

Visiting Fellows can be associated with the SCCL to establish a collaboration with young researchers to promote research of common interest. Doctoral students, junior researchers or persons who are deemed to have an interest in and ability to engage in scientific activities may be appointed as Visiting Fellows.

To date, SCCL has established cooperation with the following Visiting Fellows:

Senior Visiting Fellows:

Lars Afrell
Stig von Bahr
Bill Blair
Ross Cranston
Lars Hörnberg
Stefan Lindskog
Mikael Mellqvist

Junior Visiting Fellows:

Aleksander Kalisz
Johanna Karlervik
Vincent Schmidt-Hollburg

Visiting Fellows:

Mads Bryde Andersen
Johan Bärlund
Matthew Dyson
Anders Fernlund
Eiríkur Jónsson
Ciara Kennefick
Rune Sæbø
David B. Wilkins
Andrew Robertson

The Stockholm Centre Oxford Fellowship

In 2011, SCCL started a collaboration with the University of Oxford and Christ Church College, which i.a. means that a Swedish researcher within the framework of The Stockholm Center Oxford Fellowship gets the opportunity to do research at the University of Oxford as an employee for an entire academic year. The research position in Oxford has been funded by the Council of Justice Edvard Cassel’s foundation, the Rector at Stockholm University, the Faculty Courses Foundation and law and auditing firms.

Fellowship Scholars:

2012/2013    Gustaf Sjöberg
2013/2014    David Langlet
2014/2015    Laura Carlson
2015/2016    Jaan Paju
2016/2017    Elisabeth Ahlinder
2017/2018     Jessica Östberg
2018/2019     Mark Klamberg
2019/2020     Cyril Holm
2020/2021     Marios Iacovides
2022/2023     Nikola Hajdin
2023/2024     Branka Marusic